Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

I use everything as a solution for allot of things, often I need to hide or "turn of" various aspects of Everything, so it fits, its single purpose use in a specific context.

One thing I cant turn of is the Everything search edit bar. There are many use cases where I don't need the search edit and in fact gets in the way of what I am trying to do.

For example, I often have a few everything windows open as "pellets" or "panels". These windows are preconfigured from and are easily open with a AHK hotkey:

Code: Select all

#r::
Run, Everything64.exe -x %Xpos% -y %Ypos% -height 400 -width 600  -bookmark references  -ontop
Return
I used them to assist me with working with other applications in a number of ways. In these Everything "panels", I need them
  • As small as possible as there can be 2-5 open per program
  • The everything window space not being by taken up its UI panels
  • Prevent the accidental editing of the Search edit

The last two points are what I am struggling with. Being able to hide the search edit and to show it on demand with a hotkey would fix both points.

In this example gif, you can see how much space the search edit for both windows are taking, its also possible to accidentally change the results showing in them.

My need for these panels are for a window that shows a "fixed" list of items. So the Search edit is preictally useless and a hinderance here.

Please void, consider giving us an option to toggle the visibility of the search edit bar, cheers!

Image
void
Developer
Posts: 15675
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Post by void »

Please try the toolbar_high setting.

toolbar_high=-1

Everything64.exe -config-value toolbar_high=-1

-config-value



To restore the default height, use:

toolbar_high=0
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

Void, Thank you for the help!

I had no idea about
-config-value
(nor
-config
for completely overriding the ini file). This is a godsend!

So I tried your solution and sure enough it works, I should have known you was thinking way ahead.

Unfortunately I cannot seem to find a way to create a hotkey that will allow me to toggle the search edit bar with a single hotkey. I tried using the ini notation
/<...>=!<...>
:

Code: Select all

/toolbar_high=-1!toolbar_high=0
But the above does not seem to work, probably because of
toolbar_high
needing values.

Can we get a native hotkey for this feature as well? It seems to fit inline with toggling status bar, preview, folders, menu etc.
void
Developer
Posts: 15675
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Post by void »

Create a bookmark with the following search:

/toolbar_high=toolbar_high==-1?0:-1

Formula syntax is supported (c-style expressions).

Bind a key to the bookmark as needed.
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

I had no idea you could use "Formula syntax is supported (c-style expressions)" with the ini setting keys.

Thanks to your example I was quickly get a hotkey set up.

With the c-style exptresssions, this means its now possible to perform logical expressions with ini settings. I will have to experiment with this to be sure

Thank you!
void
Developer
Posts: 15675
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1362a adds a toolbar_visible ini setting.

Please consider the less hacky bookmark search:

/toolbar_visible=!toolbar_visible
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: Can we get a Option/Hotkey to toggle the search edit field?

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

Will do! cheers.
Post Reply