Exact Phrase is not working!! Please help...

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
flexmuscle

Exact Phrase is not working!! Please help...

Post by flexmuscle »

Hello,

In the advanced search, I chose the option "Any of these words: If I put in search terms as an example, dog cat "bird on trees" bees

The search bar will pipe the 3 words in quotes separately rather than an exact phrase.

dog|cat|"bird|on|trees"| bees

What am I doing wrong? I've tried every combo and the results is not working. If I take that same exact phrase and put it under "this exact phrase" search option, it pulled up the data correctly.

I'm quite new to Everything so if someone can enlighten me please.
NotNull

Re: Exact Phrase is not working!! Please help...

Post by NotNull »

You are doing nothing wrong. Advanced Search will try to make it easy for you (or anyone) to make quite complicated searches, without knowing anything about the search syntax that is used for that. But it has limitations, like in your case.

For that, you will have to know a little bit more about the Search Syntax
Using that,

Code: Select all

dog|cat|"bird on trees"| bees
should give you the results you were looking for.
flexmuscle

Post by flexmuscle »

For some reason, it's not working for me. I attached the image for what I typed into the Everything search bar but it returns nothing.

Maybe I'm still missing something.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Attachments
search everything image.png
search everything image.png (9.96 KiB) Viewed 5919 times
flexmuscle

Post by flexmuscle »

The search syntax seems to work if I removed the space between the pipe operator and get rid of the the phrase "Building Maintenance Enterprise"

dm:>=06/1/2016 case:Stamford|case:SBOE|case:SPS|case:stamfordct|case:16-14|case:9943078|case:68001977|case:AFB|case:BME|case:Melillo|case:hygenix Y:\

I'm still confused why adding that exact phrase produce zero findings.