Page 1 of 1

$openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Thu May 28, 2020 7:45 pm
by Alexarian
Thanks for the Everything!
I tried to manage open path in TC and put cursor on file using this:

Code: Select all

$exec("c:\Total Commander Extended\Totalcmd64.exe" /O /S /T /R=$openpath("%1"))
and that's open path with cursor selected file in default Explorer, not in TC.

Installed latest stable releases Everything and TC, win10.

Re: $openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Thu May 28, 2020 8:29 pm
by therube

Re: $openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Thu May 28, 2020 9:10 pm
by tuska
I use this setting in 'Everything' for 'Open Path' (Tools -> Options... -> Context Menu -> Open Path):

Code: Select all

$exec("Path\to\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /O /A /S "%1")
Please see:
Total Commander -> F1 Help - 4.a. Command line parameters
for further details.

[These settings for 'Everything' <-> TC might also be of interest to you].

Re: $openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Fri May 29, 2020 6:42 am
by Alexarian
Thanks all for your help!
Especially tuska, that's what I was looking for.

Re: $openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 8:01 am
by fireant
In 1.4 i am using for both Open (Folders) and Open Path below line and it works well.

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD64.EXE" "%1")
For 1.5, Open Path works the same, but Open (Folders) does not. It opens said folder in Windows explorer instead. Is this a bug or am i using it wrongly?

Re: $openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 8:21 am
by void
Thanks for the bug report fireant,

Everything is ignoring the custom Open (folders) command when right clicking a folder and clicking Open.
Pressing ENTER on the folder will use your custom Open (folders) command.

This issue will be fixed in the next alpha update.
I'll make a post here once this is ready for testing.

Re: $openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 8:52 am
by fireant
Thanks void. Am in love with 1.5a and will try to stick with it.

In addition to your suggestion, found another way around that:
Options -> General -> Results -> Open path with double click on path text
This uses "Open Path" as well, so opens in Total Commander as well.

Will need to check which approach is best for me, but i suspect yours (ENTER) should be the best one.

Re: $openpath open in default explorer instead of Total Commander

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2022 7:13 am
by void
Everything 1.5.0.1320a fixes an issue with executing the Open command for folders.