Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
TeToTa
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 14, 2023 11:14 pm

Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Post by TeToTa »

Is it possible to add an image dimensions in the popup (like "title" attribute in HTML) when you hover the pointer over the image?
For example, Windows' Explorer displays an image dimensions in the title popup's.
void
Developer
Posts: 15351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Post by void »

Everything 1.5 will support statusbar formatting and title bar formatting.

Title bar formatting based on the current selection is on my TODO list.

Thank you for the suggestion.
TeToTa
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 14, 2023 11:14 pm

Re: Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Post by TeToTa »

Just to clarify that I mean:

Everything:
Image

Windows Explorer:
Image
(It has "Dimensions: 2715 x 1800")
void
Developer
Posts: 15351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Post by void »

Ah, the tooltip.

Yes, I have on my TODO list to use the system tooltip.
The system tooltip will show dimensions for images.

For now, Everything shows the properties values for all current columns.
Everything 1.5 will have a dimensions column.
tuska
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Post by tuska »

void wrote: Thu Dec 07, 2023 11:07 pm For now, Everything shows the properties values for all current columns.
Everything 1.5 will have a dimensions column.
Here is an example:
 
2023-12-08_Properties values for all current columns.png
2023-12-08_Properties values for all current columns.png (40.09 KiB) Viewed 2835 times
TeToTa
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 14, 2023 11:14 pm

Re: Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Post by TeToTa »

TL;DR:
I would like to have an ability to select the extra properties for a tooltip only, they should be lazy loaded (only when a tooltip appears) and if a property is missed for a file, just do not display the property name in the tooltip.

---

The "Dimensions" is a lazy load property. A lazy load property is calculated only when the table column is visible.

So, there is a bug if I use "Extra Large Thumbnails" mode:
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (109.43 KiB) Viewed 1028 times
The property is empty.

If the column is out of sight:
Screenshot_1.png
Screenshot_1.png (10.2 KiB) Viewed 1028 times
It requires to scroll to the column to add the property to a tooltip:
Screenshot_2.png
Screenshot_2.png (7.18 KiB) Viewed 1028 times
---

Also, I don't want to have the "Dimensions" column is enabled all time.

I would like to only customise the tooltip by adding extra properties inside it.

For example, for photos I would like to have "Dimensions" extra property, for videos "Dimensions", "Length", "Video Format" ones.

Which should be also lazy loaded, they should be calculated only when the tooltip appears.

Currently, if the columns with empty values are also added into a tooltip:
Screenshot_3.png
Screenshot_3.png (6.54 KiB) Viewed 1028 times
"Length", "Video Format" are video only properties, but I see them in the tooltip for an image.

I think if a property is missed for a file, it makes sense to not display the property name in the tooltip.
void
Developer
Posts: 15351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Image's dimensions in the popup/title

Post by void »

Tooltip customization is on my TODO list.

For now, please try disabling property_request_visible_column_only:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    property
  • Select property_request_visible_column_only.
  • Set the value to: false
  • Click OK.
Everything will now load the dimensions property when the Dimensions column is offscreen.



Alternatively, add dimensions to your index:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Properties tab on the left.
  • Click Add....
  • Select Dimensions and click OK.
  • Click OK.
Post Reply