Saving Everything's Environment settings

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
ChrisGreaves

Saving Everything's Environment settings

Post by ChrisGreaves »

As a beginner I am experimenting with a lot of stuff, including various settings.
I can see that there are two INI files in my folder "C:\Users\Chris077\AppData\Roaming\Everything\".
As I experiment with global settings in the Search menu ("MatchCase", "Match Diacritics"), or from the Tools menu, under the Debug submenu, click Config and no doubt other places, things get changed, and these changes carry over to the next time I load Everything.

I have identified these four files:-

Code: Select all

C:\Users\Chris077\AppData\Roaming\Everything\Everything-1.5a.ini
C:\Users\Chris077\AppData\Roaming\Everything\Plugins-1.5a.ini
C:\Users\Chris077\AppData\Roaming\Everything\Run History-1.5a.csv
C:\Users\Chris077\AppData\Roaming\Everything\Search History-1.5a.csv
and I have a start-of-day script that makes a backup copy of these so that, during the day, or sometime in the days ahead, i can roll back Everything's environment to an earlier state.

What other files might I backup at start of day to keep my platform relatively stable?

I run nightly backups, but here I am building a script that will cleanly restore the environment to a known state.

Thanks, Chris.
Last edited by ChrisGreaves on Mon Mar 20, 2023 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
harryray2

Re: Saving Everything's Envirnment settings

Post by harryray2 »

I run Everything as a portable, with all files in one folder. I back up all the folder with all the files except the database and the Everything executable.
froggie

Post by froggie »

You should backup the folder "C:\Users\Chris077\AppData\Roaming\Everything", not just the individual files. I have several more files in mine and I am sure I do not have them all - and new ones may be created in the future.

[img]C:\Users\Public\Pictures\[/img]
Attachments
Capture.JPG