Admin Icon

Plug-in and third party software discussion.
Post Reply
BKPB
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:13 pm

Admin Icon

Post by BKPB »

In previous versions, Everything had an Administrator icon on the Shortcuts and in the Start menu, which was ugly. She's not here now, and that's a good thing. My question. How did you do it ? By editing the Manifest or in another way ? I want to remove the Admin icon from another program. I tried to replace the Manifest in it with the Manifest from your program, the icon stopped being displayed, but the programs also stopped running with Administrator rights. Tell me how to get rid of the Administrator icon and at the same time so that the program has Administrator rights.
void
Developer
Posts: 15354
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Admin Icon

Post by void »

Everything does the following:


Use the following in your manifest:

<requestedExecutionLevel level="asInvoker" uiAccess="false"/>

Instead of:

<requestedExecutionLevel level="requireAdministrator" uiAccess="false" />



In your program startup code:
  • call IsUserAnAdmin()
  • If not running as an admin:
    • Get the current executable filename with GetModuleFileNameW(NULL,filename,filename_buffer_size);
    • ShellExecute the executable filename with the "runas" verb
BKPB
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Admin Icon

Post by BKPB »

The icon remained

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
version="4.0.0.0"
processorArchitecture="amd64"
name="UNINSTALLER"
type="win32"
/>
<description>Uninstaller</description>
<dependency>
<dependentAssembly>
<assemblyIdentity
type="win32"
name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls"
version="6.0.0.0"
processorArchitecture="amd64"
publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df"
language="*"
/>
</dependentAssembly>
</dependency>

<trustInfo xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v3">
<security>
<requestedPrivileges>
<requestedExecutionLevel level="requireAdministrator" uiAccess="false"/> It was
<requestedExecutionLevel level="asInvoker" uiAccess="false"/> Fixed it, the icon remains
</requestedPrivileges>
</security>
</trustInfo>

<!-- Designed and tested for Windows Vista, 7, and 8 -->
<compatibility xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:compatibility.v1">
<application>
<supportedOS Id="{e2011457-1546-43c5-a5fe-008deee3d3f0}"/> <!-- Windows Vista -->
<supportedOS Id="{35138b9a-5d96-4fbd-8e2d-a2440225f93a}"/> <!-- Windows 7 -->
<supportedOS Id="{4a2f28e3-53b9-4441-ba9c-d69d4a4a6e38}"/> <!-- Windows 8 -->
<supportedOS Id="{1f676c76-80e1-4239-95bb-83d0f6d0da78}"/> <!-- Windows 8.1 -->
<supportedOS Id="{8e0f7a12-bfb3-4fe8-b9a5-48fd50a15a9a}"/> <!-- Windows 10 -->
</application>
</compatibility>

<!-- High-dpi aware (Windows Vista and later) -->
<asmv3:application xmlns:asmv3="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v3">
<asmv3:windowsSettings xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/SMI/2005/WindowsSettings">
<dpiAware>true</dpiAware>
</asmv3:windowsSettings>
</asmv3:application>

</assembly>
void
Developer
Posts: 15354
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Admin Icon

Post by void »

Does the admin icon remain after rebuilding your icon cache? (ignore the top bit)
BKPB
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Admin Icon

Post by BKPB »

Yes, this removes the icon, but then the program does not start with Administrator rights by default. Then at startup, it requires a startup from the Administrator. P.S. I use an online translator.
Post Reply