[help] how to reuse search fragment ?

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
iamqz
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 2:34 pm

[help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by iamqz »

for example,
i want to search desktop.ini that its content include a and dont include b:
desktop.ini content:<a !b>
i also want to search other file that its alternate-data-stream-ansi include a and dont include b:
alternate-data-stream-ansi:<a !b>

finally i combine them together:
<desktop.ini content:<a !b>> | < alternate-data-stream-ansi:<a !b> >

my question is how to reuse "<a !b>" ? that is write search fragment "<a !b>" once but twice ?
something like :
var=<a !b> < <desktop.ini content:$var> | <alternate-data-stream-ansi:$var> >
that is assigning search fragment to a variable , and refer the variable twice
thanks! thanks! thanks!πŸ₯°
ovg
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:19 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by ovg »

void
Developer
Posts: 15443
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by void »

Please try creating the following filter:
  • From the Search menu, click Add to filters....
  • Change the Name to: Desktop.ini Content or ADS
  • Change the Search to: <desktop.ini content:search:> | < alternate-data-stream-ansi:search: >
  • Change the Macro to: dcads<search>
  • Click OK.
Search for:
dcads:<123 !456>

This will expand to:
<desktop.ini content:<123 !456>> | < alternate-data-stream-ansi:<123 !456> >



-or-



With Everything 1.5, please try the following search:

[define:a=123][define:b=456]<desktop.ini content:<[a:] ![b:]>> | < alternate-data-stream-ansi:<[a:] ![b:]> >



-or-



Search for:
#define<:dcads<asearch,bsearch>=#<:<desktop.ini content:<#quote<:#asearch:#>: !#quote<:#bsearch:#>:>> | < alternate-data-stream-ansi:<#quote<:#asearch:#>: !#quote<:#bsearch:#>:> >#>:#>:

And then search for:
#dcads:123,456
iamqz
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 2:34 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by iamqz »

ovg wrote: ↑Thu Oct 06, 2022 9:27 am Something like viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12095#p49190
this is exactly what i want , thank you very very much !πŸ™πŸ’•πŸ₯°
ovg
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:19 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by ovg »

@iamqz
Hmm... I think that you should send all thanks to void, not me :D :D :D
iamqz
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 2:34 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by iamqz »

void wrote: ↑Thu Oct 06, 2022 9:44 am Please try creating the following filter:
this is exactly what i want , thank you very very much !πŸ™πŸ’•πŸ₯°
i like first method ,
and are there documents about this "search:" and "xxx<search>" syntax ?
thanks ! πŸ’•πŸ˜‹
void
Developer
Posts: 15443
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by void »

iamqz
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 2:34 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by iamqz »

ovg wrote: ↑Thu Oct 06, 2022 11:52 am @iamqz
Hmm... I think that you should send all thanks to void, not me :D :D :D
πŸ˜„ i thank you and void, because your link let me know that someone else also have same need as me to reuse search fragment ! πŸ˜„
iamqz
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 2:34 pm

Re: [help] how to reuse search fragment ?

Post by iamqz »

void wrote: ↑Thu Oct 06, 2022 11:57 am Macro expansion
thanks very*100 much 😘
Post Reply