a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Found a bug in "Everything"? report it here
Post Reply
295126748
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:44 am

a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by 295126748 »

Oh,After installing autoit3

I have a dull and boring discovery. :oops:

if I right click a .au3 file in explorer,choose open, it will go to au3 editor

but right click a .au3 in Everything,choose open,it will go to running the script.

I guess because of this

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.au3]
"PerceivedType"="text"
@="AutoIt3Script"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.au3\PersistentHandler]
@="{5e941d80-bf96-11cd-b579-08002b30bfeb}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.au3\ShellNew]
"FileName"="Template.au3"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell]
@="Run"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Compile]
@="Compile Script"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Compile\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\Aut2Exe\\Aut2Exe.exe\" /in \"%l\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\CompileX64]
@="Compile Script (x64)"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\CompileX64\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\Aut2Exe\\Aut2Exe_x64.exe\" /in \"%l\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\CompileX86]
@="Compile Script (x86)"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\CompileX86\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\Aut2Exe\\Aut2Exe.exe\" /in \"%l\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Edit]
@="Edit Script"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Edit\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\SciTE\\SciTE.exe\" \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Open]
@="Open"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Open\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\SciTE\\SciTE.exe\" \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Run]
@="Run Script"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\Run\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\AutoIt3.exe\" \"%1\" %*"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\RunX64]
@="Run Script (x64)"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\RunX64\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\AutoIt3_x64.exe\" \"%1\" %*"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\RunX86]
@="Run Script (x86)"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell\RunX86\Command]
@="\"d:\\Program Files (x86)\\AutoIt3\\AutoIt3.exe\" \"%1\" %*"
void
Developer
Posts: 15351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by void »

Everything uses the default verb when you open an item:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoIt3Script\Shell]
@="Run"
The default verb is Run.

I will look into using the Open verb by default.
NotNull
Posts: 5260
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by NotNull »

Which option was shown in a bold font in the context menu? Open? Run? Edit?

Also: What is the (Default) value the registry under HKCU\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\explorer\fileext\.au3\userchoice
295126748
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:44 am

Re: a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by 295126748 »

NotNull wrote: Thu May 26, 2022 8:18 am Which option was shown in a bold font in the context menu? Open? Run? Edit?

Also: What is the (Default) value the registry under HKCU\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\explorer\fileext\.au3\userchoice
in explorer ,Run Script is bold

in everthing,Open is bold

in both explorer and everyhing ,double click will run the script

but right click has a little diffrence

my English is not good to describe.you can try to install a autoit3 for test,it is only 20mb
NotNull
Posts: 5260
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by NotNull »

So I downloaded and installed the latest version of AutoIt. Not a big success btw [1], but at least I can access the context menus.
These are the .au3 context menus of File Explorer (left) and Everything (right) side-by-side.

The Open at the top of the Everything context menu always represents the default action (= what happens when double-clicking the file).
However, Everything removes the 'Open' context menu entry from the list of the Windows context menu. I assume that is on purpose as Everything already has its own 'Open' entry (same for other file extensions like .txt .jpg, etc). No need for double Open entries.
All is good and well, until "Open" is *not* the default verb (=action), like in AutoIt.

(to be continued; limited time atm) No longer needed; @void already said (and took action!) what I would like to suggest. :)

Explorer vs Everything context menu.png
Explorer vs Everything context menu.png (28.4 KiB) Viewed 4169 times

P.S.: Nothing wrong with your English. Very understandable and readable (as far as I can judge; English is not my native language either)


[1].
Although I choose the 64-bit specifically, AutoIt suggests to install in Program Files (x86).
Furthermore: the Scite editor that also got installed is still 32-bit.
.. which lead to complaints about missing Visual C++ 2015 redistributables. Those are installed, but only in 64-bit version.
Time to uninstall ..
void
Developer
Posts: 15351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by void »

Thank you for the feedback.

The next alpha update will show Run Script in bold at the top of the context menu and will also show the Open item.

I'll post here once this is ready for testing.



Unfortunately, Everything 1.4 does not use the "open" verb.

A workaround is to set a custom verb:
  • In Everything, paste the following into the search box and press ENTER:
    /custom_verb01=open
  • If successful, custom_verb01=open is shown in the status bar for a few seconds.
  • From the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Keyboard tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show commands containing, search for: custom
  • Select File | Custom Verb 1
  • Click Add....
  • Press a new keyboard shortcut (for example: Ctrl + O) and click OK.
  • click OK.
Press your keyboard shortcut to "open" the file.

-or-

In your case, you should be able to right click the .au3 file and click Edit Script.
295126748
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:44 am

Re: a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by 295126748 »

Really thank NotNull for detailed test and description

And Thank Void for hard work creating this greate software :D
void
Developer
Posts: 15351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: a dull and boring discovery,may be not bug

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1316a will now show the default verb in the context menu (instead of always Open)
Post Reply