How to force a rescan

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
joejoe
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:03 am

How to force a rescan

Post by joejoe » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:17 am

Windows 7 x64. Everything Version 1.4.1.877 (x64)

Good day
When I mount a new NTFS volume (V) (using Truecrypt) Everything doesn't scan it (I have included V: in Everything's index list) . The only way I can get it to scan the volume is to close the Everything, open task manager and stop Everything.exe. Then restart Everything. It will then scan volume V. Is there a way to get Everything to scan V: as soon as I mount it, or to rescan all volumes? Refresh doesn't work, nor does opening a new window.
Thank you.
Joe

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4257
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: How to force a rescan

Post by void » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:18 am

Please try the following:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and pressing ENTER:
    /reindex v:

joejoe
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:03 am

Re: How to force a rescan

Post by joejoe » Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:31 am

that works. Thank you. Perhaps the developers could add a 'rescan' option under view?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4257
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: How to force a rescan

Post by void » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:22 am

I am considering an Index menu with such an option.

I would also like to address the issue of not detecting a mounted Truecrypt volume in the next release so this is not necessary..

Thanks for the suggestion.

Post Reply