Total Commander Support

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Total Commander Support

Post by David » Fri May 29, 2009 9:55 am

To open folders with Total Commander:
Add the following lines to the end of the Everything.ini file in your "Everything" installation folder:

Code: Select all

open_folder_path_command=$exec("C:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T "$parent(%1)")
open_folder_command=$exec("C:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T "%1")
To open files with Total Commander:
Add the following line to the end of the Everything.ini file in your "Everything" installation folder:

Code: Select all

open_file_command=$exec("C:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%P" "%1")
Thanks to Robert Hindal

ouzoWTF
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by ouzoWTF » Sat May 30, 2009 12:06 am

Thanks for that!

uneasy
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:53 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by uneasy » Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:58 pm

Total Commander plugin is available

http://forum.voidtools.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=379

ate
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:51 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by ate » Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:12 pm

Thirst, Thanks for the brilliant search-tool.

I'm working with Total Commander on Vista32 with UAC.

If I use the given strings ... everything works o.k.

But my TC is portable and so I changed the path (C:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE ...) to "%COMMANDER_PATH%\TOTALCMD.EXE ...."

If I start the TC with admin privileges and then start everything ... search ... Enter ... the result is given in the TC. That's o.k.

But this don't work with a normal TC (started without admin privileges). ... search ... Enter ... Error-Message: "%Commander_Path%\TOTALCMD.EXE" was not found ....

Could you help me ?

PS: Relative paths, like ".\..\TOTALCMD.EXE", don't work. Everything.exe in the root of the TC-Directory and only calling the "TOTALCMD.EXE ...." don't work.

/Edit: I made a button in TC with

command: %commander_path%\tools\everything\start_uac.bat %commander_path%
param: n o t h i n g
path: %commander_path%\tools\everything

and wrote a Batch

Code: Select all

@echo=off 
FIND /c /I "%1" everything.ini 
IF errorlevel 1 goto INI 
IF errorlevel 0 goto Start 

:Start 
start everything.exe 
goto End 

:INI 
echo open_folder_path_command=$exec("%1\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T "$parent(%%1)")>> everything.ini 
echo open_file_command=$exec("%1\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%%P" "%%1")>> everything.ini 
echo open_folder_command=$exec("%1\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T "%%1")>> everything.ini 
start everything.exe 

:End
It's only a workaround.

WhACKO
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:48 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by WhACKO » Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:47 pm

I don't like the workaround for running portable TC, since Everything is itself a portable app, I would love if it could use relative paths to open files in TC, based on the folder it is run from.

Please consider adding such an option.

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by David » Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:48 pm

Is it possible to use the full path to TC, with out the %TotalCommander_Path% variable?
It looks like TC can not set the system environment variable when it is run with out admin privileges.

Perhaps a few new functions are needed?

$GetModulePathFromWindowClass(class)

To get the TC path we would call
$parent($GetModuleFileNameFromWindowClass("TC_CLASS"))
I am not sure what the TC class is ... but it would have to be running for this to work..
I don't like the workaround for running portable TC, since Everything is itself a portable app, I would love if it could use relative paths to open files in TC, based on the folder it is run from.
Something like:

Code: Select all

open_folder_path_command=$exec(".\TOTALCMD.EXE" "%1")
?

rando
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:23 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by rando » Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:08 pm

Would it be also possible to open TC when double click on path in path column?
(allow double click in path column enabled)

WhACKO
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:48 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by WhACKO » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:46 pm

To get the TC path we would call
$parent($GetModuleFileNameFromWindowClass("TC_CLASS"))
I am not sure what the TC class is ... but it would have to be running for this to work..
This is a great Idea, but like you said, TC has to be running for it to work.

I still would prefer to have a variable like %EVERYTHING_PATH% based on the .exe location. Or if it's simpler just this would do the same thing:

Code: Select all

open_folder_path_command=$exec("..\TC\TOTALCMD.EXE" "%1")

Thanx.

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by David » Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:54 am

Please try http://www.voidtools.com/Everything-1.2.1.431a.zip
  • added relative path support to $exec.
Relative paths are always relative to the Everything.exe (not the current directory).

Boofo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by Boofo » Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:58 am

David,

I have the Everything directory of drive D (my backup drive) and TC is on drive C. How would the relative paths work for that?

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by David » Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:40 am

How would the relative paths work for that?
Relative paths are only useful for the same drive, you could mix the full path in with the absolute path, but its completely pointless, ie ..\..\..\d:\foo\bar\tc.exe is the same as d:\foo\bar\tc.exe

Why would TC be on a different drive to Everything?
Can you use the absolute TC path in this case?
Would it be also possible to open TC when double click on path in path column?
(allow double click in path column enabled)
"Everything" should use the open_folder_path_command when this option is enabled.

Boofo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by Boofo » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:14 am

Everything is on a different path because my D drive is my backup drive. I use that for all portable-type installs in case I ever lose drive C for whatever reason. It makes getting back up and running a lot easier and faster.

WhACKO
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:48 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by WhACKO » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:54 am

I don't think you can have relative paths based on different drives?
You can use %SYSTEMROOT% to access the drive where windows is installed, or you can set your own variables at startup but this defeats the use of relative paths IMO.

Boofo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by Boofo » Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:11 pm

I wonder if %programfiles% would work.

OK, I just tried it and it works! Even though Everything is on my D drive, it still finds Total Commander on the C drive with the following:

Code: Select all

open_folder_path_command=$exec("%ProgramFiles%\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%1")
open_file_command=$exec("%ProgramFiles%\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%1")
open_folder_command=$exec("%ProgramFiles%\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%1")

Boofo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by Boofo » Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:49 pm

I can even go one better with %COMMANDER_PATH%. TC sets the path on install.

Code: Select all

open_folder_path_command=$exec("%COMMANDER_PATH%\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%1")
open_file_command=$exec("%COMMANDER_PATH%\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%1")
open_folder_command=$exec("%COMMANDER_PATH%\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /T /L="%1")

WhACKO
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:48 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by WhACKO » Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:24 pm

Thanks David!

The relative path based on Everything's exe works, now if I only had the time to set up all my portable apps.... and figure out a way to use two profiles - for work and home :roll:

Thank you again for the quick implementation of the suggestion, Everything is a must have app!

Boofo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by Boofo » Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:39 pm

WhACKO wrote:The relative path based on Everything's exe works, now if I only had the time to set up all my portable apps.... and figure out a way to use two profiles - for work and home :roll:
Running the app from a simple bat or cmd file with conditionals should solve the work vs home profiles problem.

rando
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:23 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by rando » Sat Oct 10, 2009 8:40 am

I've downloaded the latest beta.
I noted that the file "everything.db" is in the root of C drive.

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by David » Sat Oct 10, 2009 10:23 am

I've downloaded the latest beta.
I noted that the file "everything.db" is in the root of C drive.
What is your database location set to (See Tools->Options->Volumes->Database location)?
If it is empty, are there any errors reported in the Errorlog.txt file in your "Everything" installation folder?

rando
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:23 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by rando » Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:25 pm

David wrote:
I've downloaded the latest beta.
I noted that the file "everything.db" is in the root of C drive.
What is your database location set to (See Tools->Options->Volumes->Database location)?
If it is empty, are there any errors reported in the Errorlog.txt file in your "Everything" installation folder?
Yes it is empty.

There is an error in errorlog.txt:

28/05/2009 21.11.15: Everything 1.2.1.371: .\src\db.cpp(4411): db::_load(): if (2005648 + 16752664 + 4 > 2398864): Invalid folder offset.

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by David » Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:45 am

I've downloaded the latest beta.
I noted that the file "everything.db" is in the root of C drive.
This problem has been fixed in:
http://www.voidtools.com/Everything-1.2.1.432a.zip
  • fixed relative db location.

rando
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:23 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by rando » Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:37 pm

thank you :)

ghirin
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:54 pm

Re: Total Commander Support

Post by ghirin » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:57 pm

Guys!

This search tool is brilliant! Together with Total Commander - it is superb combination! Thanks!!!!
:D

Post Reply